Andrew Mark Lippard Memorial Lecture

Lecture History

The Andrew Mark Lippard Memorial Lectures were established in 1975 in memory of seven-year-old Andrew Mark, son of Professor and Mrs. Stephen J. Lippard, who died of an acute encephalopathy on September 29, 1973. Professor Lippard, who was then a member of Columbia's Department of Chemistry, and his wife established the lectureship to stimulate studies on the cause and pathogenesis of encephalopathic diseases, particularly with respect to viral components. The series is supported by the Andrew Mark Lippard Memorial Fund, the MD-PhD Program, and the Department of Neurology.

The Lippard Lectures: A Legacy in Neuroscience

For nearly four decades, the Andrew Mark Lippard Memorial Lectures have brought experts from across the field of neuroscience to Columbia University to share and discuss the latest cutting-edge research. The list of distinguished past Lippard lecturers is a testament to Columbia's position at the forefront of new ideas and approaches to neurology.

See Past Lecturers

Supporting the Lippard Lectures

Columbia's Department of Neurology remains a world leader in research and care dedicated to the human brain thanks to the generous support of its friends and partners. If you would like to make a gift to support the Andrew Mark Lippard Memorial Lectures, please visit our online giving page.

Selection Committee

Each year the featured Lippard lecturer is chosen by an interdisciplinary committee comprised of research leaders from across Columbia University Irving Medical Center. Current committee members include:

  • Michio Hirano, MD
  • Stephen Lippard, PhD (ex officio)
  • George Mentis, PhD
  • Timothy A. Pedley, MD
  • Serge Przedborski, MD, PhD (Chair)
  • Jonathan Rosand, MD
  • Catherine Schevon, MD, PhD
  • Neil Shneider, MD, PhD
  • Ai Yamamoto, PhD

For more information, please email Tessa Bouche at