Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The Department of Neurology Diversity and Inclusion Committee develops and oversees the policies, procedures, and programs that guide our mission of advancing health equity, both locally and globally. The aim of this committee is to embed diversity and inclusion methods and measures into every realm of our departmental activities, including education and training, patient care, clinical and medical research, workforce recruitment and retention, community and global outreach, and healthcare administration.

The overall goal of this work is to continuously advance and assess department-wide efforts to address health care disparities and issues related to cultural competency, implicit bias, linguistic diversity, gender identity and equality, racial/ethnic/religious sensitivity, disabled and/or veteran needs, workplace inclusion, and the recruitment and retention of populations underrepresented in medical care, education, and leadership. These efforts are subject to annual evaluation, both internally and through the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). 

Current members of our Diversity and Inclusion Committee include:

  • Carolyn Barley Britton MD, MS, Chief Diversity Officer
  • Olajide Williams, MD, MPH, Chief of Staff
  • Michelle Bell, MD
  • Comana Cioroiu, MD
  • Sylvie Goldman, PhD
  • Jose Gutierrez-Contreras, MD, MPH
  • Daniel Lowenstein, MD
  • Alison Pack, MD
  • Charlie Russo, MBA, Manager of Faculty Affairs
  • Emerita Verdejo, LSW, LMSW, Director of Education
  • Shannon Zinn, Director of Internal Communications (Committee Consultant)